This is where you can find information about Dorte Hummelshoj Jakobsen’s cosy series, set in Knavesborough, a fictional village in Yorkshire, England. The main characters are Rhapsody Gershwin and her fiancé, Constable Archibald Penrose


The Cosy Knave

The first novel in the series.

The vicious attacks begin when the prodigal son of Knavesborough, Mark Baldwin, returns to the sleepy village after forty years in Argentina, fully equipped with fame, fortune and effeminate butler. Small wonder that the spiteful nosey parker Rose Walnut-Whip is stabbed, but how could the murderer get away with shattering the perfect, English tearoom idyll in front of twenty villagers?


Christmas in Knavesborough

Four short stories – these are only available during the winter.


The Red Shoes

Four short stories

The Red Shoes – what happens when a retired chief inspector covets his neighbour’s shoes.

A Study in Black (first published as Zed Alley) – what happens when Rhapsody Gershwin participates in a crime festival and stumbles on a mysterious handbag.

The Blue Vase (not a Knavesborough story) – two nosy little boys visit Granny and stick their noses in her mysterious past.

Green Acres – all Rhapsody wanted was to visit a friend in the local old people’s home, but that girl will run into trouble.


The Charity Shop

A short story.

Constable Penrose is sent to Aldburgh to solve a case in the local charity shop. The police are short-staffed so Rhapsody must lend a hand.


Ding Dong Bell, The Kitten in the Well

A short story.

This is a return to Rhapsody’s childhood in the vicarage in Knavesborough. Her sister’s kitten runs off, and suddenly the whole family is involved in a mysterious death.

Green Acres

A short story, first published in the anthology The Red Shoes.